Dance for You: Interview to Elisa Carrillo Cabrera

elisa-carrillo-cabrera_dance-for-you_cover-75The Mexican Snow White

IRATXE DE ARANTZIBIA/ DANCE FOR YOU 

To be the first Mexican performer to become Principal Dancer in an important European company turned Elisa Carrillo Cabrera (36 years old) into a celebrity in her country. Born in Texcoco (Mexico) she took her first ballet steps at the age of six. Trained in the Escuela Nacional de Danza Clásica (Classical Dance National School), in Mexico, and in the English National Ballet School, she made her professional debut in the Stuttgart Ballet in 1999, where she was promoted to soloist.

Following her heart, in 2007 she headed with her husband Mikhail Kaniskin for the Staatsballett, in Berlin, which was then directed by Vladimir Malakhov. She had to pay dearly for her decision since she joined the ballet as demi-soloist, although in 2011 she was promoted to Principal Dancer.

Today a happy mother of a baby daughter, the Mexican artist is moved by emotion when sharing with DANCE FOR YOU some of the key episodes in her successful professional trajectory.

How did you get involved in ballet?

My family comes from a very humble background, and although they always liked classical music, they had nothing to do with dance. I came into ballet by chance. When we moved to Mexico City my mother enroll me in ballet lessons because she wanted me to have a good back posture, and the teacher said I had a natural flair for it. When I was six they took me to watch “La Sylphide” at the Teatro Bellas Artes (Fine Arts Theatre), and I was fascinated by it. To be honest, there wasn’t a specific moment when I thought I’d become a professional. I just got used to that life style. I loved ballet so much and it made me so happy that it became my life. At 14 or 15, I realized that it was a choice for life.

Read more

Elisa dancing "La Péri" in the Ballet Gala in Kremlin, Russia © Svetlana Postoenko.

Elisa dancing “La Péri” in the Ballet Gala in Kremlin, Russia © Svetlana Postoenko.

Etiquetado , ,

Responder

